Brahms,Schumann,Mendelssohn - Live in Moscow. Vol. 1 - Emil Gilels

Brahms,Schumann,Mendelssohn - Live in Moscow. Vol. 1 - Emil Gilels

  • $34.99

Gilels (1916-1985) was one of the 20th century’s foremost pianists. Like many Russian artists of his era, he was virtually unknown in the West until the cultural thaw of the mid-’50s. Though Gilels’ repertoire was far-ranging, the music of the German Romantic era benefited particularly from his burnished tone, strong technique and unfussy yet elegant musicianship. The 1983 recital preserved on this DVD is devoted to the music of Schumann, Brahms, and Mendelssohn, including Brahms’s Paganini Variations (Book I) and Schumann’s Symphonic Etudes.


1. Paganini Variations (Book 1), Op. 35
Fantasien, Op. 116
2. Capriccio in D minor
3. Intermezzo in A minor
4. Capriccio in G minor
5. Intermezzo in E major
6. Intermezzo in E minor
7. Intermezzo in E major
8. Capriccio in D minor


Vier Klavierstücke, Op. 32
9. Scherzo
10. Gigue
11. Romance
12. Fugue
Schumann: Symphonic Etudes, Op. 13


Songs Without Words, Book Three, Op. 38, “Duet”
Mendelssohn: Etude in A minor, Op. 104b

Write a review

    Poor           Excellent
Note: HTML is not translated!