Dvorak - Cello Concerto,Piano Concerto - Vaclav Neumann,Jiri Belohvalek

Dvorak - Cello Concerto,Piano Concerto - Vaclav Neumann,Jiri Belohvalek

  • $34.99

Dvorak's Cello Concerto was written during Dvorak's stay in America. The Concerto concluded Dvorak's American stay by expressing his poignant longing for home. A touching nostalgia seizes the whole second movement, whereas the third is full of joyous expectations. As with much of his work it resounds, with Czech songfulness and Dvorakian emotionalism, qualities that are vividly expressed in this pertor mance by the acclaimed cellist Guitav Rivmius.

Dvorak's Piano Concerto was written in 1876. As opposed to the then prevailing ideas of virtuosity, Dvorak wrote a relatively modest piano part, concentrating on its musical content. The lirst movement sounds both heroic and contemplative, the second testifies to Dvorak's sense of musical poetry and the third sounds impassioned as well as dance-like. The work's value soon proved itself, leading to performances by the world's top pianists, among them the legendary Czech pianist Rudolf Firkusny.

The Czech Philharmonic Orchestra is led by two of its most esteemed past musii directors, Vaclav Neumann (director from 1968-1990) in the Cello Concerto and Jifi Belohlavek (director from 1990-1992) in the Piano Concerto.

Antonin Dvorak

Cello Concerto in B minor, B.191 (Op. 104)
Gustav Rivinius, cello

Piano Concerto in G minor, B. 63 (Op. 33)
Rudolf Firkusny, piano

Czech Philharmonic Orchestra
Vaclav Neumann, Jin Belohlavek, conductors

Write a review

    Poor           Excellent
Note: HTML is not translated!